Day 14, 2015 – Mile 1403 – Spoil Island Primitive Camp – March 29

thus morning was déjà vu. It was cold, the winds were blowing hard from the North, and I didn’t want to get out of the tent. Hours were flying by and I was losing daylight. I decided to set a 3 day goal to make st Augustine and booked a motel room to force me to get going. It was a slow going day and the wind was bitterly cold. I stopped for lunch and felt uncomfortable. I decided to cross the infra pasta and hug the east shoreline to alleviate some of the wind. I passed bridge after bridge. Daytona was a lot smaller than I thought, definitely not dense urban development. The scenery then becomes desolate again after passing Daytona, and there are some mighty fine waterfront homes.

I was racing against the sunset to get my cling spot because I knew it would get cold fast after losing the solar heat radiation of direct sun rays. Thankfully I got to my campsite just as the sun was on the horizon. I definitely needed the last remaing daylight to navigate through shallow waters and find the high ground.

My kayak took on a lot of water today that I am concerned about. I will need to investigate tomorrow later in the day. Too dark, damp, and cold right now!

Photo 1: Daytona Bridge

 

 

Leave a comment